Active enough for the time being

Social media came into my life at around the age of 15.  At first I thought my parents were being over-protective and felt peer-pressured to open all sorts of online accounts with the fear of being isolated from my social circles.  But looking back, I’m glad I waited till beyond the legal age.

On my Facebook account you have access to much of my personal information: name, age, birthday, education, where I live, where I’m from and my family members.  I chose to share this information because I believe it’s needed in order for my contacts to know that it’s really me.  I use Facebook predominantly to message my close friends and to share photos that have a special meaning to me.

I add people who I know or have at least heard of, but out of nearly 500 ‘friends’, I only have a close connection with less than 100.  I think this goes to show that Facebook does in no way reflect our real personal lives; a profile of someone is just an inaccurate projection of who they really are.  Many of my Facebook contacts know almost nothing about me.

On Instagram, I have a private account because I don’t feel entirely comfortable with sharing my photos with the whole community.  I only provide a small amount of information such as my name and a short biography about me, again to let people know that it’s me.  What I like about Instagram is that, unlike Facebook, I’m not constantly reminded to change my profile picture and update information – rather I can do that at my own pace.

As for Twitter, Tumblr, LinkedIn, Flickr and many other platforms, I do not hold such accounts.  This is because I feel that the profiles I currently have are enough – they serve for the right purposes and already take up a lot of my time.  However, I think that as I move closer to hopefully becoming a journalist, I will inevitably widen my online presence to make global connections.

2 Comments

  1. I think you are making quite wise moves there with keeping your online identity reserved and as private as possible. But then it makes me wonder what would happen if we didn’t privatise our information online, what is so important about keeping ourselves a secret? I know that I am wary, myself, of giving too much information away, there are obvious reasons like identity theft, stalkers etc. but what about corporations and online advertising? They’re definitely watching us and taking in our information but how much of an effect can that have on us?

    Like

  2. Being media students I feel as though we’re forced to have a presence online, but how can we take control of our information? Aren’t we supposed to enable people to get to know us and our beliefs, isn’t that how journalism and creative media works in a digital age?
    What about big corporations capitalizing of our personal information? The fact that “terms and conditions” are purposely written so we don’t read them?
    With all of these questions, the one I feel is the most appropriate one to ask is: How can we be successful, as media professionals in a digital age without compromising our privacy and our careers?
    Many of us will be performing jobs that didn’t exist when my 30 year-old cousin was at university. These involve social media, streaming and news websites. I feel as though, in the future, we might figure out our role in this massive small village we call the internet and be okay with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

