I study Radio Production at Westminster

How visible am I online?

Not very! Name; birthday; photos; previous schools … Just a few people know I exist, though. On Facebook, I only befriend people I know, nevertheless I only interact with a handful. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram (to name a few) are about numbers; the bigger they are the better. With some exceptions, when you have 100+ friends/followers, the vast majority doesn’t care that much about you and I’m sure you feel the same way, they’re just another to add to the ones you already have, just like you are and I am!

As a media student I’m force to have a presence online and allow access to information about myself. In my case, Audioboom, Mixcloud, Soundcloud and Twitter are platforms where I upload/share my Smoke Radio shows which contain information such as ‘’I’m a radio student from the University of Westminster’’ and ‘’you can find me on the Harrow campus’’ (not necessarily in these words).

I feel uncomfortable letting the internet know I’m a radio student and it freaks me out that Facebook knows that a few of my ‘’friends’’, in London, are attending an event ‘’near me’’ when on my page I live in Lisbon.

I am a bit paranoid, I admit, but it’s dangerous to publicise private information on platforms that can be accessed by anyone when you don’t really have that much control under them or your own information. The option would be to not have an online presence but I don’t know how beneficial that would be for our careers.

But hey … this is the industry we’re getting ourselves into, everyone!

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for this blog post, I see that we have quite a similar approach to online visibility, which is cynical and wary. We touched on the subject of online data last semester, and how there is so much data, so much information about anyone who uses the internet that researchers don’t have to guess anymore, they have everything they need to gather what they need to know about us. Even if we try our hardest, if we are online we are being seen. But at least we can go someway to limiting what can be seen by others.

    Like

  2. I agree that it can be nerve racking to see what is shared with the rest of the world via Facebook including who’s attending an event “near me”. Often times, when you “connect” to Facebook on a different website or app, it will post information you don’t want shared and have to go in and manually delete it or opt not to have it shared with your whole friend list. One example that stuck out to me was when I was once using Ticketmaster to purchase concert tickets, and when I went to select my seat in the venue, it actually showed me a picture of the facebook profile picture of those who opted to connect ticketmaster to facebook and where they were sitting so you could choose to “sit next to your friends”. It is so wild that this in an option that not only you know that these people are attending the concert, but also exactly where they are sitting. While there is limitations in what we post and who sees it, some who may senselessly click “allow” when connecting an app to facebook may not know how visible they truly are making themselves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

