Where does the Internet think we should eat tonight?

47997962.jpg

Yelp is an American multinational corporation headquartered in San Francisco, California. It develops, hosts and markets Yelp.com and the Yelp mobile app, which publish crowd-sourced reviews about local businesses, as well as the online reservation service SeatMe and online food-delivery service Eat24. The company also trains small businesses in how to respond to reviews, hosts social events for reviewers, and provides data about businesses, including health inspection scores. But this is not why it is so popular in the US and growing day by day in the UK; the real reason is because users give honest reviews about the restaurants they eat at. This has been for almost a year now the trust-worthiest source when it comes to choosing a restaurant. Users share their experience and their thoughts about the food and the service. Although there is no way to prove that people that write the reviews are actual customers, people still believe the reviews.

I think this business revolves the most on the users as they provide content such as ratings, reviews and opinions. There are top 10s made for bars, restaurants and cafe that update everyday according to the new ratings.

So, would you trust a site where users give their opinion about places to eat? Or do you still rely on your friends for this?

9 Comments

  1. I completely forgot about Yelp and all the websites similar to it. That’s a great example of participation. I do use the app sometimes because it’s faster than looking for something on Google.
    I usually don’t rely on other people’s reviews because we all have different tastes, however I do look at the ratings as it’s something that’s shaped by time. Reviews might vary and be edited or deleted but I don’t think it’s that easy to cheat when it comes to ratings. I can be mistaken, though.

    Like

  2. In reply to your questions, I would trust a site to give me their opinions on where to eat. However, this would be under exception. That would be firstly, if i were following this particular writer for a long time in order to build a reader/ writer trust. Secondly, I would consider the language they are using to describe where they have eaten- whether the language they have used is positive or negative.

    However, saying all of this, I feel that the friendship and relationship I have with my friends in comparison with a blogger i follow is totally different.

    Like

  3. I agree that Yelp is a good example of a site running on user generated content. I personally have used Yelp to decide if I would like to go to that resturant. However, you can not base decisions based on one bad review. This could have been an individual negative experience. If I am going to use Yelp as a resource for deciding where to eat, I will read through multiple reviews to get a general idea of what it’s like. I do agree with what @the3nglishblog said about overall trusting friends, since they know your preferences.

    Like

  4. I think Yelp is a great and reliable website. Since I am not from England and London is a huge city, i don’t know all the restaurants and bars and whenever i am looking for a place to eat, i look at the reviews on Yelp. Up until now, the reviews have been reliable so i can say i trust websites where users give there opinions.

    Like

  5. I use Yelp all the time, when I’m traveling or when I’m back home in New York. It is such a great resource that contributes to sociality and stimulates the economy, especially for locally owned businesses. Obviously reading a bad review can be worrying, but the beauty of Yelp is that you can take it or leave it, go visit the restaurant despite a bad review and then contribute your own feedback in the form of a new review that can then help others using Yelp in the future.

    Like

  6. Wow, can’t believe I didn’t think of this! I literally don’t eat anywhere without checking the reviews, photos and ratings on Yelp. Of course taste in anything is subjective, so while you may love the pizzeria around the corner, the next person may hate it, but more often then not I trust Yelp to lead me to the best local restaurants. I do know that companies aren’t allowed to pay to have bad reviews removed, which I think is a good rule. Although, I guess business owners and workers can always create fake profiles and give themselves a ton of good reviews to outweigh the bad ones…. Although, if any business feels the need to do that they should probably just use that time to come up with way to actually improve their food and service.

    Like

  7. I would trust the online reviews for the places to dine in, however this could be tricky, like you’ve said, you never know if the people who commented on it are real customers. I have never personally used the Yelp app survices, however I often see pictures extracted from this app whenever I use maps on my iPhone. Thank you for mentioning Yelp, now that I know more about it, I might as well download it and try it out.

    Like

  8. I agree it’s a good example, I mean i will use Yelp to find a good restaurant and maybe listen other people’s advice to order some food. It is totally about audience participation, because yelp can let those consumers to comment about their ideas or opinions about one thing, this also can help us to find something we like

    Like

Leave a Reply

